Quote collection #5 (47 quotes)

Francis Bacon

“In charity there is no excess.”

“Begin doing what you want to do now. We are not living in eternity. We have only this moment, sparkling like a star in our hand – and melting like a snowflake.”

“Write down the thoughts of the moment. Those that come unsought for are commonly the most valuable.”

“I will never be an old man. To me, old age is always 15 years older than I am.”

“Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested.”

“It is impossible to love and be wise.”

“Knowledge itself is power.”

“There is a difference between happiness and wisdom: he that thinks himself the happiest man is really so; but he that thinks himself the wisest is generally the greatest fool.”

“In order for the light to shine so brightly, the darkness must be present.”

George Burns

“I would go out with women my age, but there are no women my age.”

“How can I die? I’m booked.”

“Nice to be here? At my age it’s nice to be anywhere.”

“I can’t afford to die; I’d lose too much money.”

“Look to the future, because that is where you’ll spend the rest of your life.”

“I’d rather be a failure at something I like than a success at something I hate.”

“Too bad that all the people who know how to run the country are busy driving taxicabs and cutting hair.”

“Happiness is having a large, loving, caring, close-knit family in another city.”

Oscar Wilde

“To expect the unexpected shows a thoroughly modern intellect.”

“I may have said the same thing before, but my explanation, I am sure, will always be different.”

“Life imitates art far more than art imitates life.”

“It takes a thoroughly good woman to do a thoroughly stupid thing.”

“The aim of love is to love: no more, and no less.”

“One can always be nice to people one cares nothing about.”

“The books that the world calls immoral are the books that show the world its own shame.”

“Men always want to be a woman’s first love – women like to be man’s last romance.”

“I am not young enough to know everything.”

“The true perfection of man lies not in what man has, but in what man is.”

“I have nothing to declare except my genius.”

Benjamin Franklin

“Proclaim not all thou knowest.”

“Admiration is the daughter of ignorance.”

“All things are cheap to the saving, dear to the wasteful.”

“Idleness and pride tax with a heavier hand than kings and governments.”

Goethe

“There is no patriotic art and no patriotic science.”

“Personality is everything in art and poetry.”

“We are shaped and fashioned by what we love.”

“Girls we love for what they are; young men for what they promise to be.”

Napoleon

“Religion is what keeps the poor from murdering the rich.”

“Impossible is a word to be found only in the dictionary of the fools.”

“Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake.”

Democritus

“Nothing exists except atoms and empty space; everything else is an opinion.”

“The wrongdoer is more unfortunate than the man wronged.”

“Throw moderation to the winds, and the greatest pleasures bring the greatest pains.”

“It is greed to do all the talking but not to want to listen at all.”

Stendhal

“All religions are founded on the fear of the many and the cleverness of a few.”

“Only great minds can afford a simple style.”

“Pleasure is often spoiled by describing it.”

“The more one pleases everybody, the less one pleases profoundly.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

